Council

Similar to Members of Parliament at the federal level, Councillors are the USC’s legislative body. Council is separate from the Student Executive but an equal partner in how the USC is run.

About us

What we do

USC Council, is the governing body of the USC and is made up of student representatives, just like you, who are elected by their peers to represent and advocate for their interests. Along with the USC Executive and Representatives from Senate and the USC Board of Directors, Councillors come from all of the undergraduate faculties and professional schools, and are responsible for understanding the business of council – suggesting changes to policies or initiatives as they see fit.

Where we meet, vote, and listen​

Council meetings take place once a month in the Community Room on the second floor of the University Community Centre (UCC) building. Meetings are open to all to attend, or you can watch the live stream page.

Councillors also attend their constituency council meetings to ensure your needs are met and your voice is heard. Have a question for your representative? All council members and their emails are listed below.

Council members

A councillor is an undergraduate student who is elected by peers to represent their interests on the council floor. 

ARTS & HUMANITIES (2)
Arts and Humanities President Margaret Gleed Margaret.Gleed@westernusc.ca Voting
Arts and Humanities Councillor Annika Thornton Annika.Thornton@westernusc.ca Voting
HEALTH SCIENCES (4)
Health Sciences President Sanjana Jones Sanjana.Jones@westernusc.ca Voting
Health Studies Councillor Mariana Batista Mariana.Batista@westernusc.ca Voting
Kinesiology President Armaan Bawa Armaan.Bawa@westernusc.ca Voting
Kinesiology Councillor Rebecca Wong Rebecca.Wong@westernusc.ca Voting
Nursing Councillor Emily Nafziger Emily.Nafziger@westernusc.ca Voting
Nursing President Olivia Conway Non-voting
Health Studies President Prenetha Raja Non-voting
FIMS (2)
Information and Media Studies
FIMS President Sophia Ratanshi Sophia.Ratanshi@westernusc.ca Voting
FIMS Councillor Emilia Schultz Emilia.Schultz@westernusc.ca Voting
MUSIC (2)
Music President Mia Haug Mia.Haug@westernusc.ca Voting
Music Councillor Roma MacDonald Roma.MacDonald@westernusc.ca Voting
SCIENCE (8)
Science President Anya Sarma Anya.Sarma@westernusc.ca Voting
Science Councillor Arya Chadha Arya.Chadha@westernusc.ca Voting
Science Councillor Hussain Jan Hussain.Jan@westernusc.ca  Voting
Science Councillor Jiya Sahni Jiya.Sahni@westernusc.ca Voting
Science Councillor Rashad Muhammed Rashad.Muhammed@westernusc.ca Voting
Science Councillor Verena Fanous Verena.Fanous@westernusc.ca Voting
Science Councillor Domenic Di Stasi Domenic.DiStasi@westernusc.ca Voting
Science Councillor Eric Ding Eric.Ding@westernusc.ca Voting
SOCIAL SCIENCE (8)
Social Science President Sofia Ouslis Sofia.Ouslis@westernusc.ca Voting
Social Science Councillor Allison Salofsky Allison.Salofsky@westernusc.ca Voting
Social Science Councillor Victoria Sasu Victoria.Sasu@westernusc.ca Voting
Social Science Councillor Austin Wang Austin.Wang@westernusc.ca Voting
Social Science Councillor Stavros Liakakos Stavros.Liakakos@westernusc.ca Voting
Social Science Councillor Nathan Ayele Nathan.Ayele@westernusc.ca Voting
Social Science Councillor Daniel Tellez Jimenez Daniel.TellezJimenez@westernusc.ca Voting
Social Science Councillor Peter Kermack Peter.Kermack@westernusc.ca Voting
AFFILIATE
BRESCIA (2)
Brescia President Maathangi Rudranantha Maathangi.Rudranantha@westernusc.ca Voting
Brescia Councillor VACANT Voting
KINGS (4)
King’s President Laura Crowe Laura.Crowe@westernusc.ca Voting
King’s Councillor Madeline Bickley Madeline.Bickley@westernusc.ca Voting
King’s Councillor Laura Barroso Laura.Barroso@westernusc.ca Voting
King’s Councillor VACANT Voting
HURON (2)
Huron President Aaryan Lakhan Paul Aaryan.Lakhanpaul@westernusc.ca Voting
Councillor Iqra Devlani Iqra.Devlani@westernusc.ca Voting
BUSINESS (IVEY) (2)
Ivey President VACANT Non-voting
Ivey Councillor Alex Tan Alex.Tan@westernusc.ca Voting
Ivey Councillor Hana Ghattas Hana.Ghattas@westernusc.ca Voting
ENGINEERING (3)
Engineering President Jack Peplinski Jack.Peplinski@westernusc.ca Non-Voting
Engineering Councillor Maia Lan Maia.Lan@westernusc.ca Voting
Engineering Councillor Sherif Elmaghraby Sherif.Elmaghraby@westernusc.ca Voting
Engineering Councillor VACANT Voting
EDUCATION (2)
Education President Grace Flaherty Grace.Flaherty@westernusc.ca Voting
Education Councillor Jordan Killen Jordan.Killen@westernusc.ca Voting
DENTISTRY (2)
Dentistry President VACANT Non-voting
Dentistry Councillor Emily Mundy Emily.Mundy@westernusc.ca Voting
Dentistry Councillor VACANT Voting
MEDICINE (2)
Medicine President VACANT Non-Voting
Medicine Councillor Anna Basu Anna.Basu@westernusc.ca Voting
Medicine Councillor Sadia Mehmood Sadia.Mehmood@westernusc.ca Voting
LAW (2)
Law President VACANT Non-Voting
Law Councillor Yara Ubaidat Yara.Ubaidat@westernusc.ca Voting
Law Councillor Peter Sypnowich Peter.Sypnowich@westernusc.ca Voting
SUPPORTS
Speaker of Council Bella Di Menna speaker@westernusc.ca Voting
Deputy Speaker Simon Hunsgate deputyspeaker@westernusc.ca Non-Voting, Resource Members

2023-24 Council MeetingS

Council Meeting
Council Meeting 2023-24

7th Meeting of Council, 2023-24 (February 14, 2024)

7th Meeting of Council, 2023-24 Meeting Details 7th Meeting of CouncilDate: Wednesday, February 14, 2024Time: 7:00pm EST Agenda and Documents Agenda Minutes of the Meeting ...
Read More →
Council Meeting
Council Meeting 2023-24

6th Meeting of Council, 2023-24 (January 24, 2024)

6th Meeting of Council, 2023-24 Meeting Details 6th Meeting of CouncilDate: Wednesday, January 24, 2024Time: 7:00pm EST Agenda and Documents Agenda Minutes of the Meeting ...
Read More →
Council Meeting
Council Meeting 2023-24

5th Meeting of Council, 2023-24 (November 22, 2023)

5th Meeting of Council, 2023-24 Meeting Details 5th Meeting of CouncilDate: Wednesday, November 22, 2023Time: 7:00pm EST Agenda and Documents Agenda Minutes of the Meeting ...
Read More →
Council Meeting
Council Meeting 2023-24

4th Meeting of Council, 2023-24 (October 25, 2023)

4th Meeting of Council, 2023-24 Meeting Details 4th Meeting of CouncilDate: Wednesday, October 25, 2023Time: 7:00pm EST Agenda and Documents Agenda Minutes of the Meeting ...
Read More →
Council Meeting
Council Meeting 2023-24

3rd Meeting of Council, 2023-24 (September 27, 2023)

3rd Meeting of Council, 2023-24 Meeting Details 3rd Meeting of CouncilDate: Wednesday, September 27, 2023Time: 7:00pm EST Agenda and Documents Agenda Minutes of the Meeting ...
Read More →
Council Meeting
Council Meeting 2023-24

2nd Meeting of Council, 2023-24 (August 23, 2023)

2nd Meeting of Council, 2023-24 Meeting Details 2nd Meeting of CouncilDate: Wednesday, August 23, 2023Time: 7:00pm EST Agenda and Documents Agenda Minutes of the Meeting ...
Read More →

Searching for documents or minutes of prior years?

Scroll to Top