Council... What we do

Similar to Members of Parliament at the federal level, Councillors are the USC’s legislative body. Council is separate from the Student Executive but an equal partner in how the USC is run.

So, for example, while the President has authority over the day to day operations, Council can create or amend policy, issue a directive (i.e. task an Executive to return with certain information), or pass a standing resolution that has a legislative effect on the USC’s operations.

A councillor is an undergraduate student who is elected by peers to represent their interests on the council floor. These students come from all the undergraduate faculties and professional schools, and are responsible for understanding the business of council – suggesting changes to policies or initiatives as they see fit.

Together they…

  • represent the interests of Western’s undergraduate students
  • establish the Terms of Reference, salaries, discipline and accountability of Executive Officers
  • approve the USC’s Long Term Plan
  • appoint committees, task forces or other advisory boards.

How we work

Most of our legislative work happens in committee meetings focused on Student Experience, Operations, Advocacy, and Governance and Finance. These committees discuss proposed policy or policy changes, receive updates from Executives, and hear feedback from students like you.

Council Meeting

Where we meet, vote, and listen

Meetings are generally held in the Community Room in the UCC Building.

Meetings are open the public and everyone is welcome to attend or watch on the live stream.

Councillors also spend a great deal of time in each of their constituencies, ensuring your needs are being met and your voice is being heard.

AFFILIATE COUNCILS

Mikaila Hunter

President
mhunte64@uwo.ca

Katie Vezina

Councillor
kvezina@uwo.ca

Hadia Fiaz

President
hfiaz@uwo.ca

Chris Anthony

Councillor
canthon5@uwo.ca

Mathieu Larocque-Jarvais

Councillor
mlarocq8@uwo.ca

Mac McGee

Councillor
mmcgee25@uwo.ca

Emma Murray

Councillor
emurra53@uwo.ca

Inham Teja

President
iteja@uwo.ca

Florian Selmani

Councillor
fselmani@uwo.ca

Erin MaCauley

President
emccaul@uwo.ca

Christine Yan

Councillor
cyan58@uwo.ca

Allie Bachtold

President
abachtol@uwo.ca

Jake Sawyer

Councillor
jsawyer8@uwo.ca

Adrian Hucal

Councillor
ahucal4@uwo.ca

Princess Marfil

Representative
pmarfil@uwo.ca

Erik Tamberg

Councillor
etamberg2021@dents.uwo.ca

Matthew Fung

Councillor
mfung2021@meds.uwo.ca

Josh Hollenberg

Councillor
jhollenb@uwo.ca